Üye İsmi
Şifre

Turkish Law English forum dedicated to Turkish Law

Forced Marriage For Men?

Yanıt
Old 18-05-2002, 18:36   #1
Concerned

Varsayılan Forced Marriage For Men?

Could you please tell me if a young man might be forced into marriage by his family in Turkey if they threaten to disown him unless he marries within the family? How can the young man escape if he has little education and is financially dependent on his family, and has nowhere else to live? Please help with any suggestions... Thank you very much.
Old 18-05-2002, 19:03   #2
Konuk

Olumsuz I cannot believe

Sorry I'm not a lawyer but I cannot believe in the words you posted here. Is that true? Nobody can force anyone to marry against his/her desire.
The Middle Age is far from our times. What is the problem? Is the girl rich and so your family wants you to marry her? Is she pregnant?
If you don't want to marry nobody can force you.
It's in your hands to solve the problem!
Old 19-05-2002, 00:34   #3
Cest la vie

Varsayılan

Although nobody can force a person to marry with someone , sometimes families threaten their child to give up looking after (or to disown) him/her if he/she doesn't want the marriage that they want. Could you please tell us his age or give us the details? Then, we will tell you what they can do or what they can't do and maybe it will be a help for you.
(I hope!)
Old 19-05-2002, 16:49   #4
Av. Bülent Sabri Akpunar

Olumsuz compulsory marriage

The right to marry is a right which is inherently and exclusively inalianable to man due to his/her being human.Hence this right should be respected and observed in any case and conditions.
One cannot be forced or obliged to marry with other contrary to his/her consent.This is a right which was warranted by the Turkish constitution and by the European convention on Human rights as well.