Üye İsmi
Şifre

Turkish Law English forum dedicated to Turkish Law

Age of Sexual Consent in Turkey

Yanıt
Old 30-08-2011, 21:23   #1
Konuk

Karar Age of Sexual Consent in Turkey

I have been visiting Turkey for a number of years. It has become a growing concern of mine that often 15 year old girls and those younger, travelling to Turkey for their holidays, are having sexual relationships with older Turkish boys/men.
It makes me feel sick to my stomach.
In the UK this behaviour would be illegal and unacceptable. It would land the older party a listing on the sex offenders register and often a custodial sentence.
So my question is, what is the age of sexual consent in Turkey? What does the Judical system in Turkey do about those who break this law?
Thanks
Old 24-09-2011, 14:37   #2
Konuk

Varsayılan

First of all; I wanna let you know that I am not a law professional; but familiar to this field.As there was no response yet; the professional member will probably answer your questions materially.

As what I understood from your perspective; the moral values are more or less same in everywhere. Your concerns are like anyone else reflects the corruption that could happen in any society. I saw many similar situations in western (UK; USA; Germany; France etc...) countries with my own eyes.

Yes there is a legal constraint; but this constraint is in conflict with "modern" philosophy. Such as in some states of USA; is both the boy and the girl in physical relationship are under 18, there is no charge and it seems this is free to them; but what if the boy or the girl is over 18 then there are very strong charges which are absolutely disaster for the over aged person's life... In Turkey it is similar and it should be age 18; legal professionals may correct if I mistaken...

In fact the cases that I withnessed noone would care; even the opponent used force and (worse) lied/abused etc the but most of the ( I assume %99) cases are not carried to the legal base (unfortuantely).